I Won’t Let Go

Today I am hurting for my friends.  Some are fighting serious illness, some are grieving the loss of loved ones, some are dealing with unemployment, some are trying to get free from an addiction, some are hurt from a betrayal, and some are dealing with all of the above.  The words that come to mind as I think of my hurting friends are the words I’ve heard God spoken to me in my dark times.   The words are also found in the lyrics to the song  “I Won’t Let Go” by Rascal Flatts, from their latest album Nothing Like This (January 2011).

No matter how dark the days, no matter what you have done, no matter what you’ve heard. . .  He won’t let go of you.  He will dry your tears.  He will help you get free.  He will fight the fight for you.  You are His child, and He loves you deeply, unconditionally.   See yourself through His eyes, the eyes of an adoring Father who delights in His child, who only sees what you were intended to be and not what you’ve become.  See God as a loving God who just wants to hold you and take your hurt away, replacing it with peace.  Fall into His arms.

I have found Him to be the Daddy I have always wanted in my life.  Let Him have a chance to be your Daddy.

I WON’T LET GO by Rascal Flatts (2011)

It’s like a storm
That cuts a path
It breaks your will
It feels like that
You think you’re lost
But you’re not lost on your own,
You’re not alone

I will stand by you,
I will help you through
When you’ve done all you can do
and you can’t cope
I will dry your eyes,
I will fight your fight
I will hold you tight
and I won’t let go

It hurts my heart to see you cry
I know its dark this part of life
Oh it find us all and we’re to small
to stop the rain
Oh but when it rains

I will stand by you,
I will help you through
When you’ve done all you can do
and you can’t cope
I will dry your eyes,
I will fight your fight
I will hold you tight
and I won’t let you fall

Don’t be afraid to fall
I’m right here to catch you
I won’t let you down
It won’t get you down
You’re gonna make it
I know you can make it

Cause I will stand by you,
I will help you through
When you’ve done all you can do
and you can’t cope
I will dry your eyes,
I will fight your fight
I will hold you tight
and I won’t let go

Oh I’m gonna hold you
and I won’t let go
Won’t let you go
No I won’t

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 566 other followers

