Thank You For Being My Dad

I stumbled upon the song “Thank You For Being My Dad” by Jon Barker (2006) while looking for another song on Youtube.  I’m so glad for this accidental find, and that I took a listen to it, because it’s such a touching song, and because it’s how I feel toward my Dad.  Those of you who know my life story are probably wondering, how so when your father abused you and abandoned you?

It is true that I wasn’t fortunate enough to have had an earthy father who loved me like this song writer’s dad loved him, and there was a time when songs like this would bring me tremendous sadness of an unfulfilled longing to be loved and cherished.  It’s true that I would never be able to say the words in this song about my father.  That deep longing to be loved made me vulnerable as I grew from a child into a young women and I got into a codependent relationship with a person who was abusive and controlling (but I couldn’t see it at the time).  Long story short, that relationship left me so broken and wounded, I didn’t want to live anymore and tried to end my life.   That was when God intervened, and my life began again with my new Dad.

It has been 27 years now, and I have come to know a God who loves me better than anyone on earth can.   He found me broken and hopeless, and He adopted me into His family and gave me a home.   He gave me security by showing me time and time again that I can never do anything to push Him away.  He taught me much about life and love.  He taught me to forgive, first myself and then others.    He healed the wounds in my heart.   All the sadness has been replaced with peace, and all my longing to be loved has been fulfilled.   I have a hope for a new start each an everyday.  I truly am a different person now than I was before this new life began.  I am who I am today because of Him and His love.

As a mother, I am thankful for the healing my Dad has done in me, so I can parent my children from wholeness instead of brokenness.  I hope I am modeling God’s gracious unconditional love to my children, and I hope that they too, will come to know God’s love as well as I do.  Hopefully I have been able to give them a good foundation so that they won’t become as vulnerable to others’ manipulation as I once had been.   And I am very thankful that my Dad has given my children a truly wonderful earthly father.  I am very glad that my children will be able to wholeheartedly say the words of this song to their daddy.

Thank You For Being My Dad

Music & Lyrics by Jon Barker
(You can contact Jon Barker through his website  http://www.songstostrikeachord.com/STSAC/Welcome.html)

A son rarely tells his Father 
How he really feels,
A handshake or a pat on the back 
is all that he reveals,
I’d like to right that wrong,
Here in this little song.

Thank you for shaping my life,
Thank you for teaching me all you can,
You are no ordinary man,
You make me everything I am.

Thank you for taking the time,
Thank you for showing me the way,
And thank you for being there
 when I need you,
Thank you for every single day.

Now I’ve been blessed with a son of my own,
Got my own bedtime stories to tell,
If I can raise him half as well
 as you raised me,
Guess I’ll be doing pretty well.

Thank you for your guiding hand,
Thank you for making my dreams come true,
You’re an extraordinary man,
And I hope you’re as proud of me
As I am proud of you.

Thank you for giving me life,
Thank you for showing me good from bad.
I guess I’m only really trying to say,
Thank you for being my Dad.

Even though the years drift away,

I never took the time just to say,
‘I love you, and I always have,
And thank you for being my Dad.’

‘Thank you for being my Dad.’

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jon Barker
    Dec 11, 2011 @ 14:37:31

    Hi Sophie,
    I am so pleased you came across & really like my song.
    My God bless you & your family,
    JON x

  2. Sophie
    Dec 11, 2011 @ 16:47:44

    Thank YOU, Jon, for writing such a beautiful song that has touched so many hearts! May God bless you to write many more.

    Sophie

  3. vjgonzales
    Apr 17, 2012 @ 11:10:54

    thank u for ds post. it’s a very nyc song indeed. :)

  4. Rene Brooks
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 12:03:17

    I love this song and would like to teach it to our childrens ministry for Father’s Day. How can I purchase the CD.

  5. Sophie
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 20:57:01

    Rene, you can contact Jon Barker himself at his website:

    http://www.songstostrikeachord.com/STSAC/Welcome.html

  6. Vicente Luis
    Jun 26, 2012 @ 23:21:53

    Just saying hi to you, and receive a big hug from me, i like your song very much…
    Vicente

  7. Denis Newman
    Jul 17, 2012 @ 04:03:18

    Dear Jon
    Wonderfull song to send to his farther it says everything a boy needs to say to his farther. This has become my faverate song it also should be a number one hit of all times its so meaningfull (thank you) (Where could i get a copy of the song on CD

  8. Jemielyn Valeña Jugal
    Sep 23, 2012 @ 04:25:12

    What a wonderful song….I love it.

  9. John
    Oct 12, 2012 @ 20:27:19

    Jon,
    What a wonderful song. It touched my heart and says everything a guy needs to tell his father. I lost my dad today, and I had your song play at his funeral. I am so grateful I had the chance to tell him many times that I love him, and how proud I am to call him father.

  10. Chinamaiden
    Nov 29, 2012 @ 17:24:01

    Surfing for a song that i can dedicatebto my dad on his birthday and came across this very nice song…brought tears in my eyes, special that part where it says “even tho the years drift away, didn’t took the time to say i love you and always have”… Thank you Mr. Jon Barker for sharing us your song.

  11. I Have a Dad
    Mar 16, 2013 @ 21:52:39

    Sort of says it all… Thanks for a wonderful song. I was looking for the perfect song to play for my dad’s birthday!

  12. andika666
    May 07, 2013 @ 19:21:57

    i’m really miss my dad…. :'(

  13. Vicente Luis
    May 08, 2013 @ 08:55:49

    i am sorry about your lost, receive a virtual hug… and remeber the good things from him, it mey be good to love him in that way, but, let him, go, so he rest in peace and you live better… Sorry again

  14. Denni Wike Sidauruk
    May 16, 2013 @ 20:22:57

    @ dear Sophie: :’) I was touched and cried reading your story…Initially I just wanted to find the lyrics of this song, but because I was curious so I read it.. :)
    @dear Jhon: what a wonderfull song..!! I never get tired of hearing your song
    The first time I watched your video on youtube, I cried it was so touching..and it’s how I feel toward my Dad
    “he always proud of me as I’m proud of him”
    thank you for making this wonderful song ^_^-

  15. mixy
    Jun 16, 2013 @ 06:40:52

    hi jhon you r so blessed to write that song and its wonderful as you are! thank u

  16. wilhelmina
    Apr 26, 2014 @ 23:56:52

    dear john, this is a wonderful song that i ever hear in my life and big hug for u God bless you..

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 566 other followers

