New Adventure Ahead

Time sure does fly!  I can’t believe it’s been almost a year and a half since I wrote a post in this blog, and boy, do I have a lot to update my readers!

I last left you with the news of embarking on a new career in IT industry, sharing with you all the challenges of doing so at my age, and with no field experience in the business world for the past 25 years while I was raising my children and being self-employed.  Well, it has been an interesting road for the past year and a half.  It took me about 6 months of going through interviews only to be told that while my list of skills was impressive, I didn’t make the cut because I lacked recent experience, before landing my first job with a small  IT services company.  Yes, first, because it didn’t work out.  It turned out to be a very bad situation that I will save for possibly another blog.  I got fired after less than 3 months because I dared to push back and drew a boundary for how much abuse I would take.  I suppose having been independent for so long, I just didn’t have it in me to just lie down and let people walk all over me.  Anyhow, after crying a lot, I moved on.

I spent about 3 months just healing emotionally and nearly giving up on working in the IT industry, but with the support of my husband and a network of friends, I found the strength and determination to try again.  Through a lot of coincidences that I believe were orchestrated by God, I saw an ad on Craigslist for a part-time tech at DataSmith Technologies.  The position was for a postal meter repair tech, but I figured it’s not a bad place to start, so I answered the ad.  I got a call back in about 15 minutes, and after a phone interview of about 30 minutes, was hired on the spot.  Long story short, this turned out to be the perfect opportunity I’d been looking for.  I now have a terrific boss who recognizes the value of my experiences raising my kids, running a large household, and managing myself.  In a few weeks after I started working for DataSmith Technologies, I was given other tasks to do besides repairing postal meters, and in less than 3 months, was promoted to the position of Vice President of this small IT services company and given the freedom to learn and grow as much as I want to.  I’m treated more like a business partner than a mere employee.  I couldn’t have asked for a better boss or work environment.  Comparing the previous job and this job, it’s like hell vs heaven!

So there you have it, a summary of my one-and-a-half-year-long journey back into the business world after being a stay-at-home mom and homeschooling for 25 years.  All I can say to anyone reading this is:  Never give up on your dreams.  If you’re looking for a job, I want to encourage you to always believe in yourself no matter how much the world rejects you and tells you that you’re not good enough.  Somewhere out there is the person or company who will value the very things about you that others cannot see or find objectionable.  Keep searching for that!

2 Comments on “New Adventure Ahead”

  1. nlh835 says:

    It’s wonderful, having a home vs. a job. And, to be treated with respect? Who could ask for more! Nedra

  2. Virginia says:

    Good to hear from you again, Sophie! I enjoyed reading about your success and determination, and am so pleased that your maturity and experiences are being respected by your employer. Truly a great example set for your children and others.


Leave a Reply

